A brief explanation of the DCA and my DCA project

September 25, 2007 at 11:36 pm (About My Work) (, , )

The Doctor of Creative Arts program is a PhD equivalent where the primary researched is practice based and supported by a written exegesis (70%/30%). As with a written PhD the researcher (i.e., me) asks a focused question, then formulates research objectives based on that question, then goes about answering that question and achieving those objectives. Unlike a traditional PhD the questioner does not set about answering the question in a written format, but rather through creative practice. The creative work is expected to be of an equivalent length and depth to a traditional written thesis, though measuring that in creative terms is rather difficult and it seems that researchers, supervisors and markers really have to ‘go by feel’ when judging appropriate project size at the moment. This has certainly been a challenge for me, when conceptualising and defining my DCA creative practice my focus shifted several times, and much of the motivation for this was getting the size of the project feeling right.

My Question
After a lengthy development process my question has become: how can cyberfeminist practice and Web 2.0 applications be used to recode gendered representations of women on the Internet?

To answer this question I will be spending a year doing a live-web based art project. Every week for 1 year I will create something that attempts to recode representations of women on the internet. The ‘somethings’ that I create will vary in nature, for example one week I may make animated journal icons, another week I might create a flickr photo gallery dedicated to relevant subject, and yet another week I may make some old-school browser based electronic art. As well as offering each ‘something’ for public viewing and use I will discuss my inspiration for the particular work and in an open source spirit I will explain how I did each thing so that it can be easily replicated by anyone interested. The project is really about exploration and learning and journeying out of my comfort zone to find out ‘what can an average person like me do with a wonderful thing like the web?’

3 Comments

  1. Reflections on the Australian Blogging Conference and Blogging in Education : Tama Leaver dot Net said,

    […] landed in sunny BrisVegas to write her doctorate, which is creatively exploring the important question: “how can cyberfeminist practice and Web 2.0 applications be used to recode gendered […]

  2. Tama Talks Blogs : Reflections on the Australian Blogging Conference and Blogging in Education said,

    […] she’d landed in sunny BrisVegas to write her doctorate, which is creatively exploring the important question: “how can cyberfeminist practice and Web 2.0 applications be used to recode gendered […]

  3. Tama’s eLearning Blog » Reflections on the Australian Blogging Conference and Blogging in Education said,

    […] landed in sunny BrisVegas to write her doctorate, which is creatively exploring the important question: “how can cyberfeminist practice and Web 2.0 applications be used to recode gendered […]

Leave a Reply

